Somalia's Bankable Projects 2026–2030, explained
Tusmada
Thirty-seven early-stage proposals, sector by sector: what is proposed, where, at what printed cost, and which ministry to ask.
Not investment advice. This is independent analysis of a government publication. It is not an offer, a tender notice or a sign that funding is available, and the Government of Somalia has not endorsed it.
Summary
Somalia's Ministry of Planning, Investment and Economic Development (MoPIED) has published 37 investment proposals through its investment promotion office, SOMINVEST, in Bankable Projects: Viable Investment Opportunities in Somalia (2026–2030). They run from seed production and solar power to seaports, hospitals and data centres.
- About US$3.49 billion in costs printed clearly (33 of the 37). Four further costs are printed in a notation that needs confirmation.
- All at pre-feasibility stage. Nothing in the booklet says a project is funded, approved, tendered or has a partner. One sheet mentions confidential talks.
- Largest sectors by stated cost: energy (US$845M), logistics and infrastructure (US$684M, counting 3 of its 6 proposals) and aviation (US$673M).
The opportunities by sector
The booklet is the most detailed public list of the federal government's investment priorities under the National Transformation Plan (NTP). It shows where ministries want private or partner money to go, and how they describe each need. Every sheet names SOMINVEST as promoter, together with the ministry or company shown below.
| Sector | What's proposed | Where | Cost as printed | Promoter / ministry | Report |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 15 off-grid 5 MW solar PV plants with battery storage (EN-04); a solar plant and battery storage (EN-05); solar panel manufacturing (EN-06); HFO power plants of 100 MW each (EN-03); a national electricity company, SONEC (EN-07); a national oil company, SONOC (EN-01); a gas processing plant (EN-02) | Mogadishu, Kismayo, Garacad and Bosaso (HFO); 15 second-tier towns, not named; South Central Somalia (BECO service area); others national or not stated | US$845M in total: $450M (EN-03), $169.5M (EN-02), $132M (EN-05), $75M (EN-04), $11.7M (EN-07), $5M (EN-06), $2.1M (EN-01) | Ministry of Energy and Water Resources (with BECO on EN-05); Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources (EN-01, EN-02); a private panel maker (EN-06) | Solar and storage; Electricity, SONEC and HFO |
| Fisheries | Modernised vessels and fishing practices (FI-01); processing hubs (FI-02); new fishing ports (FI-03); new fishing jetties (LI-04, listed under Logistics & Infrastructure) | National; Mogadishu, Kismayo, Bosaso (hubs); Mogadishu, Kismayo, Garacad (ports); Marka, Adale, Laasqoray (jetties) | $24.75M; $12.6M; $20.7M; $20.7M | Ministry of Fisheries and Blue Economy (FI-01 to FI-03); Ministry of Public Works, Reconstruction and Housing (LI-04) | Fisheries |
| Ports (logistics) | New deep seaports (LI-03); modernisation of existing ports (LI-05); a dry dock at Mogadishu (LI-06) | Mogadishu, Hobyo, Barawe; Bosaso, Garacad, Kismayo; Mogadishu Port | $ 1,008.3 B¹; $551.2M; $112.2M | Ministry of Public Works, Reconstruction and Housing | Seaports and dry dock |
| Roads (logistics) | Rehabilitation of existing roads (LI-01); new trade corridors (LI-02) | "across Somalia"; border towns to major port cities, with industrial clusters in Hobyo, Kismayo and Mogadishu | $1,071 B¹; $1,209 B¹ | Ministry of Public Works, Reconstruction and Housing | Roads and trade corridors |
| Agriculture & Livestock | Seed production and processing (AG-01); fodder (AG-02); live animals and meat processing (AG-03); dairy (AG-04); commercial broilers and layers (AG-05) | Mostly national or not stated; poultry in Mogadishu | $0.7M; $1.9M; $26.5M; $7.4M; $5.4M | Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation (seed, fodder); Ministry of Livestock, Forestry & Range (meat, dairy, poultry; one private sponsor on poultry) | Livestock, dairy, poultry and seed |
| Telecommunications | Telecommunication infrastructure expansion (TC-01); e-government services and data centre infrastructure (TC-02) | Urban and rural Somalia; national | $225M; $65M | Ministry of Communications and Technology | Connectivity and data centres |
| Education | Alternative education pathways and skills (ED-01); digital learning, "ALFA" (ED-02); new education infrastructure (ED-03) | Federal Member States; national, with rural and displaced learners emphasised; "across all regions" | $27.44M; $21.0M; $298.0M | Ministry of Education, Culture and Higher Education | Digital learning, literacy and TVET |
| Healthcare | Upgrading 18 regional hospitals (HE-01); domestic pharmaceutical production (HE-02); eight new referral hospitals (HE-03); a cancer treatment centre (HE-04) | 18 regions, not named; regions outside Mogadishu; others not stated | $95M; $11M; $230.6M; $50M | Ministry of Health | Hospitals, medicines and cancer care |
| Aviation | Renovation of four airports (AV-01); a new Mogadishu airport (AV-02) | Kismayo, Baidoa, Beledweyne, Dhuusamareeb; Mogadishu | US$673M in total: $16.5M; $656M | Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation | Below |
| Sports | Rehabilitation of Mogadishu Stadium (SP-01); five new stadiums (SP-02) | Mogadishu; each Federal Member State capital, not named | $9.787.217 M²; $15M | Ministry of Youth and Sports | Below |
| Environment (waste) | Integrated waste management for Mogadishu (EV-01) | Mogadishu | $133M | Ministry of Environment and Climate Change | Mogadishu waste management |
| Manufacturing | Cooking oil extraction and refining plant (MF-01); PET preform manufacturing (MF-02) | Near Mogadishu; Mogadishu | $10M; $4.5M | A private investor | Edible oil and PET preforms |
Costs as printed. Numbered markers refer to the notes on figures below.
Stated costs by sector, counting only figures printed clearly. Four figures are excluded until confirmed (notes 1 and 2), so the Logistics & Infrastructure bar covers only 3 of its 6 proposals and understates that sector.
The 33 costs printed clearly add up to about US$3.49 billion. Energy (US$845M across seven proposals), logistics and infrastructure (US$684M, counting 3 of its 6 proposals) and aviation (US$673M, almost all of it a new Mogadishu airport) are the largest. The costs for roads, trade corridors and deep seaports¹ and for Mogadishu Stadium² are left out until confirmed. Because the three logistics figures belong to that sector's largest proposals, the chart understates Logistics & Infrastructure.
All 37 proposals
| ID | Proposal (as titled in the booklet) | Sector | Where | Estimated cost (as printed) | Stage | PDF pp. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AG-01 | Seed Production and Processing | Agriculture & Livestock | Not stated (national) | $0.7M | Pre-feasibility | 13–14 |
| AG-02 | Fodder Production and Processing | Agriculture & Livestock | Not stated (national) | $1.9M | Pre-feasibility | 15–16 |
| AG-03 | Live Animals and Meat Processing (sheet mis-titled 'Fodder Production and Processing') | Agriculture & Livestock | Not stated; existing government district slaughterhouses referenced | $26.5M | Pre-feasibility | 17–18 |
| AG-04 | Dairy Production & Value-Added Dairy Products | Agriculture & Livestock | Not stated; 'Old factories' listed as existing infrastructure | $7.4M | Pre-feasibility | 19–20 |
| AG-05 | Poultry - Commercial Broilers and Layers Farming | Livestock | Mogadishu ("Mogadishu Tow") | $5.4M | Pre-feasibility | 21–22 |
| AV-01 | Renovation of Existing Airports | Aviation | Kismayo, Baidoa, Beledweyne, Dhuusamareeb | $16.5M | Pre-feasibility | 24–25 |
| AV-02 | Construction of New Mogadishu Airport | Aviation | Mogadishu | $656M | Pre-feasibility | 26–27 |
| EN-01 | Somalia National Oil Company (SONOC) | Energy | National | $2.1M | Pre-feasibility | 29–30 |
| EN-02 | Gas Processing Plant | Energy | Not stated | $169.5M | Pre-feasibility | 31–32 |
| EN-03 | Mogadishu, Kismayu, Garacad and Bosasso HFO Power Plant (100 MW each plant) | Energy | Mogadishu, Kismayo, Garacad, Bosaso | $450M | Pre-feasibility; tick box: Feasibility Started | 33–34 |
| EN-04 | 15 Off-Grid 5 MW Solar PV with Battery Storage | Energy | 15 second-tier towns; "Three (3) plants per Federal Member State" (towns not named) | $75M | Pre-feasibility | 35–36 |
| EN-05 | Solar Plant and Battery Storage (printed 'Solar Lant') | Energy | South Central Somalia (BECO service area; site not named) | $132M | Pre-feasibility | 37–38 |
| EN-06 | Solar Panel Manufacturing | Energy | Mogadishu (contact address); site not stated | $5M | Pre-feasibility | 39–40 |
| EN-07 | Somalia National Electricity Company (SONEC) | Energy | National | $11.7M | Pre-feasibility | 41–42 |
| FI-01 | Modernisation of Vessels and Fishing Practices | Fisheries | National | $24.75M | Pre-feasibility | 44–45 |
| FI-02 | Fisheries Processing Hubs | Fisheries | Mogadishu, Kismayo, Bosaso | $12.6M | Pre-feasibility | 46–47 |
| FI-03 | Construction of New Fishing Ports | Fisheries | Mogadishu Port, Kismayo Port, Garacad Port | $20.7M | Pre-feasibility | 48–49 |
| LI-01 | Rehabilitation of Existing Roads | Logistics & Infrastructure | "across Somalia" (roads not named) | $1,071 B¹ | Pre-feasibility | 51–52 |
| LI-02 | Construction of New Trade Corridors | Logistics & Infrastructure | Border towns to major port cities; industrial clusters in Hobyo, Kismayo, Mogadishu | $1,209 B¹ | Pre-feasibility | 53–54 |
| LI-03 | Construction of New Deep Seaports | Logistics & Infrastructure | Mogadishu, Hobyo, Barawe | $ 1,008.3 B¹ | Pre-feasibility | 55–56 |
| LI-04 | Construction of New Fishing Jetties | Logistics & Infrastructure | Marka, Adale, Laasqoray | $20.7 M | Pre-feasibility | 57–58 |
| LI-05 | Modernisation of Existing Ports | Logistics & Infrastructure | Bosaso, Garacad, Kismayo | $551.2 M | Pre-feasibility | 59–60 |
| LI-06 | Construction of Dry Dock at Mogadishu | Logistics & Infrastructure | Mogadishu Port | $112.2 M | Pre-feasibility | 61–62 |
| TC-01 | Improved Connectivity through Telecommunication Infrastructure Expansion | Telecommunications | Urban and rural Somalia (national) | $225 M | Pre-feasibility | 64–65 |
| TC-02 | Digitalising Somalia: E-Government Services & Data Center Infrastructure | Telecommunications | National | $65 M | Pre-feasibility | 66–67 |
| SP-01 | Rehabilitation of Mogadishu Stadium | Sports & Youth Development | Mogadishu (Abdi Aziz District) | $9.787.217 M² | Pre-feasibility | 69–70 |
| SP-02 | Construction of Five New Stadiums | Sports & Youth Development | "each Federal Member State capital" (not named) | $15 M | Pre-feasibility | 71–72 |
| HE-01 | Upgrading & Rehabilitation of 18 Existing Secondary Regional Hospitals | Healthcare | 18 regions (not named) | $ 95 M | Pre-feasibility | 74–75 |
| HE-02 | Domestic Pharmaceutical Production | Healthcare | Not stated | $ 11 M | Pre-feasibility | 76–77 |
| HE-03 | Development of Eight (8) New Referral Hospitals | Healthcare | Regions outside Mogadishu (not named) | $ 230.6 M | Pre-feasibility | 78–79 |
| HE-04 | Cancer Treatment Centre in Somalia | Healthcare | Not stated | $50M | Pre-feasibility | 80–81 |
| ED-01 | Alternative Education Pathways and Skill Development | Education | Federal Member States (existing programmes) | $27.44 M | Pre-feasibility | 83–84 |
| ED-02 | Accessible Learning for All (ALFA): Digitalising Education | Education | National; rural and displaced learners emphasised | $21.0 M | Pre-feasibility | 85–86 |
| ED-03 | New Education Infrastructure Development | Education | "across all regions" | $298.0 M | Pre-feasibility | 87–88 |
| EV-01 | Integrated Waste Management for Mogadishu | Environment & Climate Resilience | Mogadishu | $133 M | Pre-feasibility | 90–91 |
| MF-01 | Cooking Oil Extraction and Refining Plant | Manufacturing | Near Mogadishu ("Proximity to the Capital City, Mogadishu") | $10 M | Pre-feasibility | 92–93 |
| MF-02 | PET Manufacturing (PET preforms) | Manufacturing | Mogadishu | $4.5 M | Pre-feasibility; tick box: Feasibility Completed | 94–95 |
Costs and titles exactly as printed. Numbered markers refer to the notes on figures below.
Proposals without their own report
The oil-company and gas-processing sheets are covered in Why electricity costs so much in Somalia. Four sheets have no report of their own yet:
Aviation (pp.24–27).
- New Mogadishu airport (AV-02, pp.26–27). "Construction of a new international airport in Mogadishu to meet growing passenger and cargo demand", with a new runway, terminals, maintenance facilities and a cargo hub. US$656M; 5 years; ticked Greenfield and PPP. The sheet's first key driver is "Current Aden Adde Airport cannot expand further". It also states a "Potential for USD 50 million additional annual revenue", with no source. No site is named.
- Four regional airports (AV-01, pp.24–25). Rehabilitation of the Kismayo, Baidoa, Beledweyne and Dhuusamareeb airports: longer runways, larger terminals and better control towers. US$16.5M; 5 years. The sheet aims to "Increase cargo handling to 120,000 tonnes per airport" and "Create 400 new jobs". Xidig could not check the cargo figure, which looks high for airports of this size.
Sports (pp.69–72).
- Mogadishu Stadium (SP-01, pp.69–70). An upgrade with seating, lighting, community spaces and equipment, to serve "as a hub for national and community sports, fostering youth engagement, social cohesion, and economic activity". Cost printed as "$9.787.217 M"²; 2 years.
- Five new stadiums (SP-02, pp.71–72). "one modern stadium in each Federal Member State capital", with "training facilities for youth development". US$15M; 5 years. Its key drivers include "Promote peacebuilding through sports". The sheet does not say which five capitals.
Where Xidig members fit
These are plausible needs, not confirmed jobs, tenders or investments. Any paid role depends on a real, current procurement or partnership notice, and the booklet confirms none.
Roles. Professionals in energy, logistics, fisheries, health, education and ICT can see what the government has put forward in their field. Engineers, economists and planners can set out what a real feasibility study for a given proposal would need to answer; doing that in public, as open research, is itself useful. Students, early-career members and diaspora members following the NTP can use the sheets to learn how public investment planning works in Somalia.
Suppliers and services. Local businesses and operators can see which ministries lead on which sectors (table above). Plausible service needs include feasibility-study inputs (surveys, demand estimates, environmental and social baselines), translation and data work.
Research. Many claims carry no source, such as job figures and import dependence. Researchers, statisticians and journalists can check them against official data and write independent evidence notes, for example on road-network data, medicine imports and electricity tariffs. Member groups can organise around a sector report, sharing sources and local observations.
Local knowledge. Members living in the named towns can describe what is already there, such as existing ports, power networks and markets. The booklet rarely does. Local detail and corrections can be shared through Xidig's correction path, so later updates are better sourced.
Places named in the booklet's fact sheets and how many proposals mention each. Many proposals are national or unsited.
Twelve places are named across the 37 sheets. Mogadishu appears in 12 proposals, Kismayo in 6, and Bosaso and Garacad in 3 each. The other 22 proposals name no specific place. They describe themselves as national, give "second-tier towns" or "each Federal Member State capital" without naming them, or say nothing. Place guides cover Mogadishu, Kismayo, Bosaso, Garacad and Hobyo (see Related reports).
Doing business
Rules for investors. The booklet describes SOMINVEST as the national investment promotion office "established under the 2015 Foreign Investment Law" (p.7). Its rules table (p.9) gives business registration through the Ministry of Commerce, personal income tax as "progressive- 18%", corporate income tax of 15%, VAT of 5%, land by "Long Lease", visas as "eVisa with invitation/approval; valid for business travelers" and work permits in "2 to 8 weeks".
Incentives on every sheet. The fiscal incentive is "Partial import tax exemption"; a few sheets add a tax exemption for a set number of years. The same five non-fiscal incentives appear throughout: investment entry facilitation, after-care support, resident permits for the board, CEO and chairperson, and a work-permit waiver for five senior managers.
Member states. The same page lists the Federal Member States, including Somaliland and a "Northeastern State". Their status is politically contested, and Xidig reports the list as printed without taking a position.
Contacts. For any proposal, start with the ministry named on its sheet (see the sector table). The booklet also lists these institutions:
| Institution | Website | |
|---|---|---|
| Ministry of Planning, Investment and Economic Development (MoPIED) | info@mop.gov.so | www.mop.gov.so |
| SOMINVEST | info@sominvest.gov.so | www.sominvest.gov.so |
| Ministry of Commerce and Industry | info@moci.gov.so | www.moci.gov.so |
| Ministry of Finance | mof@mof.gov.so | www.mof.gov.so |
| Ministry of Justice | info@moj.gov.so | www.moj.gov.so |
| Somali Chamber of Commerce & Industry | info@somalichamber.so | www.somalichamber.so |
| Immigration and Citizenship Agency | info@immigration.gov.so | www.immigration.gov.so/en |
Contacts as printed on PDF p.10. Phone numbers are in the booklet.
What to check before acting
Stage. All 37 sheets are at pre-feasibility stage. The tick box shows "Feasibility Started" on the HFO sheet (EN-03) and "Feasibility Completed" on the PET sheet (MF-02, p.95). No other sheet indicates that feasibility work has begun.
Costs. Four printed costs are unclear: the roads, trade-corridor and deep-seaport figures¹ and the Mogadishu Stadium figure². They are reproduced as printed and left out of all totals.
Partners and institutions. No funders or partners are named, apart from one private sponsor (poultry, p.21) and two co-promoters: BECO (solar farm, p.37) and a private panel maker (p.39). Several proposals depend on institutions the booklet describes as future, such as the national oil company (SONOC) and the national electricity company (SONEC). Ports, roads and fisheries sites sit in member states whose own administrations and existing operators are not mentioned.
Questions to ask:
- Which proposals have a feasibility study, and has any advanced since publication? Ask SOMINVEST (info@sominvest.gov.so).
- What figures are intended for the four unclear costs (notes 1 and 2)?
- How do the 37 sheets relate to the "around 100 projects prepared to international standards" that officials spoke of at SOMINVEST's two-day investment forum in April 2026 (Dawan Africa, 18 Apr 2026)? Is there a fuller list?
- For any proposal you care about, is there a current procurement notice, a funding agreement or a named partner? Write to the ministry named on its sheet.
- Which legal framework would govern a public–private partnership (PPP) in that sector today? PPP is ticked on 27 sheets, but the booklet does not describe a PPP law, a PPP unit or a procurement route.
- What are the security and access conditions at the site? No sheet discusses them.
Risks
- Cost notation. Four costs cannot be used as printed (notes 1 and 2).
- Copy errors. The meat-processing sheet carries the fodder title (p.17). The referral-hospital description repeats the pharmaceutical one (pp.76, 78). A hospital sheet mentions "three commercial farming zones" (p.75). The edible-oil sheet lists the Ministry of Education's email (p.92).
- Unsourced figures. Job numbers, import shares and returns on investment are stated without sources. Three sheets state an ROI (40%, 25%, 33%); Xidig does not repeat these as expectations.
- Dated statistics. Several economic snapshot figures have since been revised (see More about the source).
More about the source
- Document: Bankable Projects: Viable Investment Opportunities in Somalia (2026–2030), first edition. The cover also carries the line "National Transformation Plan – NTP".
- Publisher: MoPIED, Federal Government of Somalia, through SOMINVEST, which posted it on 19 November 2025.
- Type: an investment-promotion project list. It is not a procurement notice, a budget or an implementation report.
- Relationship to national plans: the Minister's foreword says the projects "are drown [sic] from the National Transformation Plan (NTP 2025–2029)" (PDF p.4). The Council of Ministers approved the NTP in February 2025, and Prime Minister Hamza Abdi Barre launched it on 17 March 2025. The booklet's sections follow three of the NTP's four pillars: sustainable economic transformation, social and human capital transformation, and environment and climate resilience.
- Earlier version: a previous copy of the booklet listed 39 projects and US$3.9 billion; an earlier Xidig article based on it has been replaced by this report. This report uses the version now on SOMINVEST's website; what changed between the two should be confirmed with SOMINVEST.
Structure. The booklet has 37 one-page fact sheets, each with a short second page, grouped in ten sector sections. The second page lists "Key Drivers", sometimes "Existing Infrastructure to Support the Investment", then the incentives, then three rows of tick boxes: investment type, investment structure and project status.
Stage ticked on each fact sheet, and how often each delivery model is ticked, exactly as marked.
Economic snapshot. The booklet (p.7) gives GDP of US$11.97 billion in 2024, growth of 4.1% and GDP per capita of US$737; remittances of "$2.4 billion"; debt-to-GDP of about 6% after debt relief under the HIPC Initiative ("validated, Dec 2023"); a population of about 16.3 million, from a 2014 survey; and about 70% of people under 35. The GDP and per-capita figures matched the Somalia National Bureau of Statistics (SNBS) release of June 2025, but SNBS revised the 2024 figures in June 2026 to US$12.3 billion and US$761 per person, and 2024 growth to 4.0%. The remittance figure matches the IMF's 2024 figures for net private transfers, including remittances (US$2,401M programmed; US$2,409M estimated). World Bank data, based on UN estimates, put the population at 19.0 million in 2024 and 19.65 million in 2025. Xidig has not re-checked the debt and youth figures.
The booklet's snapshot figures are traceable, but several are dated or have been revised. Use the latest official release, with its date.
What is confirmed, and what isn't
Confirmed
- The booklet is published by MoPIED/SOMINVEST, was posted on 19 November 2025, and contains 37 proposals in ten sector sections.
- The NTP 2025–2029 was approved by cabinet in February 2025 and launched in March 2025.
Our interpretation
- The booklet is an early-stage promotion document rather than a pipeline of ready projects.
- PPP is the dominant intended model, but the booklet gives no framework for it.
- The three "B" costs are most likely a formatting error (note 1). The printed figures are unchanged.
Not yet verified
- Job, output and return figures on individual sheets.
- Whether any proposal has advanced since publication, and how the booklet relates to the "100 projects" presented in April 2026.
How we checked
We read the full 97-page booklet and checked every figure, page reference and quotation used here against it. We then compared the booklet's claims with the official, international and news sources listed below, and we say where they differ. We did not interview anyone for this report.
Notes on figures
¹ Printed as "$1,071 B" (roads, PDF p.51), "$1,209 B" (trade corridors, p.53) and "$ 1,008.3 B" (deep seaports, p.55). The booklet gives its other costs in millions ("M"), for example "$551.2 M" for port modernisation on p.59. Read literally, each of these three would be more than a thousand billion US dollars, larger than all the booklet's other proposals combined. The notation is therefore most likely a formatting error, possibly for US$1.071 billion, US$1.209 billion and US$1.008 billion. The Ministry of Public Works' own 2025 presentation on the same road programmes gives budgets in "USD mil" (1,181M for rehabilitating 3,823 km and 1,294M for 2,075 km of new roads), which supports reading these as millions, although its amounts (and one length) differ from the booklet's. Xidig has not changed the figures; they should be confirmed with the Ministry of Public Works, Reconstruction and Housing. Please check the source before relying on them.
² Printed as "$9.787.217 M" (Mogadishu Stadium, PDF p.69). The figure contains two decimal points, so it cannot be read as written. It may be intended as US$9,787,217 (about US$9.8 million). Xidig has not changed the figure; it should be confirmed with the Ministry of Youth and Sports.
Related reports
- Solar power and battery storage in Somalia
- Why electricity costs so much in Somalia
- Somalia's fisheries: vessels, processing and landing sites
- Somalia's seaports and a proposed Mogadishu dry dock
- Somalia's roads and trade corridors
- Seed, fodder, meat, dairy and poultry in Somalia
- Connectivity, e-government and data centres in Somalia
- Digital learning, adult literacy and TVET in Somalia
- Hospitals, medicines and cancer care in Somalia
- Mogadishu's waste: collection, recycling and waste-to-energy
- Edible oil refining and PET preforms in Somalia
- Mogadishu's new airport, port and other planned projects
- Kismayo's port, power, water and fish trade
- Bosaso: port, power, fish and livestock trade
- Garacad: the port Somali investors built
- Hobyo's port plans and the road inland
- A reader's glossary: bankable, pre-feasibility, PPP, brownfield and other terms
- Reader's notes: inconsistencies in the booklet, page by page
- Investing in Somalia: registration, tax, land, visas and permits
- Who does what in Somalia's investment institutions
- The National Transformation Plan 2025–2029 in brief
- 37 or 100? The booklet and the April 2026 investment forum
- Reading the jobs numbers in the booklet
About this report
By Xidig members and collaborators.
Project codes. Codes such as EN-04 or AG-05 are Xidig's own shorthand for the booklet's fact sheets, by sector; the booklet itself does not number its projects.
How we researched it. We read the full booklet and compared it with the sources below; details are under "How we checked" in More about the source. Where the booklet's figures are unclear, we reproduce them as printed and explain the issue in the notes.
Corrections. If you spot an error, please tell us using the correction link on this page.
Sources
Primary
- MoPIED / SOMINVEST, Bankable Projects: Viable Investment Opportunities in Somalia (2026–2030), first edition. Posted 19 Nov 2025: https://sominvest.gov.so/bankable-projects-in-somalia-2026-2030/. Page references are PDF pages; printed page = PDF page − 1.
- Minister's foreword: p.4.
- Snapshot: p.7.
- Investor rules and member states: p.9.
- Contacts: p.10.
- Proposals: pp.13–95.
Supporting
- MoPIED, "Somalia's cabinet approves National Transformation Plan (NTP 2025–2029)", 23 Feb 2025: https://mop.gov.so/somalias-cabinet-approves-national-transformation-plan-ntp-2025-2029-advancing-economic-growth-and-stability/
- SONNA, "Prime Minister Hamza launches the National Transformation Plan 2025–2029", 17 Mar 2025: https://sonna.so/en/prime-minister-hamza-launches-the-national-transformation-plan-2025-2029
- MoPIED, National Transformation Plan page (pillars): https://mop.gov.so/national-transformation-plan/
- Dawan Africa, "Somalia unveils 100 investment projects in energy, infrastructure, blue economy", 18 Apr 2026: https://www.dawan.africa/news/somalia-unveils-100-investment-projects-in-energy-infrastructure-blue-economy
- Somali National Bureau of Statistics, Somalia GDP 2024 release (Jun 2025): https://nbs.gov.so/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/Somalia-GDP-2024-release-text-v3-2025.pdf, and Somalia GDP 2025 (30 Jun 2026): https://nbs.gov.so/somalia-gross-domestic-product-gdp-2025/
- IMF, Country Report 25/191 (Jul 2025): https://www.imf.org/-/media/files/publications/cr/2025/english/1somea2025001-source-pdf.pdf
- World Bank, World Development Indicators, SP.POP.TOTL (updated 13 Jul 2026)