TVET and industry: where professionals can help
Tusmada
- Summary
- Where Xidig members may contribute
- Possible services, research, supplier or collaboration roles
- Who may find this useful
- Who runs TVET, and what is already funded
- Dependencies and implementation constraints
- Risks and unknowns
- Questions members should verify before acting
- What is confirmed, and what isn't
- Relevant next steps
- More about the source
- Related reports
- About this report
- Sources
Vocational training in Somalia needs employers and professionals: to advise on courses, mentor trainers and offer placements. Who runs TVET, and what donors already fund.
Not investment advice. Independent analysis of a government publication and public sources. The Government of Somalia has not endorsed it.
Summary
Somalia's vocational training (TVET) centres need what working professionals have: up-to-date knowledge of their trade, contacts with employers, and places for trainees to learn on the job. Employers, tradespeople and engineers, in Somalia and the diaspora, can help by advising on courses, mentoring instructors and offering placements.
What Xidig found:
- The industry link is the weakest part. Xidig found no sector skills councils and no documented partnerships between TVET centres and industries such as telecoms, banking, construction or solar.
- The labour market needs it. A 2025 UN analysis describes a large mismatch between skills and jobs, and the modelled ILO estimate of youth unemployment is about 34%.
- Donors are funding centres and courses. Germany (GIZ and KfW), the EU and the World Bank have funded training centres, equipment and courses since 2018, and Türkiye has donated workshop equipment. The newest is an African Development Bank-financed procurement notice, in June 2026, to build and rehabilitate a vocational training centre in Mogadishu.
- A qualifications framework is being drafted. With African Union-backed support, Somalia has been drafting a 10-level framework and policies on recognising prior learning and transferring credits. Xidig found no confirmation that they have been adopted.
- Two ministries have TVET roles. The education ministry leads work on the qualifications framework; the labour ministry says it coordinates TVET programmes and watches their quality.
The government has also listed a US$27.44M education proposal that includes matching TVET courses to industry needs. It is at an early stage; details are under More about the source.
Where Xidig members may contribute
These are learning and collaboration opportunities, not confirmed jobs or contracts.
- Curriculum advice: professionals in construction, electrical and solar work, mechanics, ICT, health and finance reviewing course content against real jobs.
- Training trainers: short courses and mentoring for TVET instructors, in person or remotely.
- Placements: employers offering apprenticeships and work placements.
- Standards: helping describe occupations and competences for the qualifications framework.
- Tracer studies: following up graduates to see whether they find work.
Possible services, research, supplier or collaboration roles
- Employer panels for a trade, meeting a TVET centre once or twice a year to review courses.
- Recognition of prior learning: helping design assessments for people who learned a trade on the job.
- Short industry courses, for example in solar installation. See Solar installer and technician skills in Somalia.
- Diaspora assignments through established programmes such as MIDA.
Who may find this useful
- Tradespeople, engineers and technicians in Somalia and the diaspora.
- Employers who hire skilled workers.
- TVET instructors and managers.
- Education and labour-market researchers.
Who runs TVET, and what is already funded
Who does what.
- Education ministry: its TVET directorate leads work on a National Qualifications Framework (NQF) with the African Continental Qualifications Framework (ACQF) project. In January 2025 ACQF reported drafts of a 10-level NQF and of policies on recognition of prior learning (RPL) and credit accumulation and transfer, with finalisation planned for 2025. Xidig found no source confirming that they were adopted.
- Labour ministry: its TVET department describes itself as "Mandated to coordinate all technical and Vocational Training programs" and as a "watchdog for the quality of TVET Programs across the country".
- What is missing: Xidig could not confirm a national TVET policy, a TVET law, a separate accreditation body or sector skills councils.
Programmes since 2018.
| Funder | What | Dates | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Germany (BMZ), with the EU | GIZ rehabilitation of TVET: upgrading selected training centres and aligning courses with employer needs | Feb 2018 – Apr 2024 (closed) | €25.6M, including €8M from the EU |
| Germany (KfW) | Expanding a vocational centre in Galkayo; new centres planned in Jowhar and Baidoa | From 2021, planned for six years | Not published |
| World Bank | Rajo Kaaba: education and skills for women and girls, run by the education ministry | Approved 2022; closes Jun 2027 | US$52M: a US$25M IDA grant plus US$27M from two trust funds |
| African Development Bank | Building and rehabilitating the Industrial Vocational Training Center in Mogadishu, under a skills project run by the labour ministry | Procurement notice Jun 2026 | Not stated in the notice |
| Türkiye (TİKA) | Carpentry and plumbing workshop equipment for a labour-ministry training institute in Mogadishu | Date not shown | Not stated |
- At launch (2018): the EU said the German–EU project would "rehabilitate 4 selected vocational training centres across Somalia" and train 3,500 students in agricultural and veterinary skills, mechanics and technicians, and administrative skills.
- Today: GIZ says it still supports "Programmes in agriculture, automotive mechatronics, construction, and media design", but names no current project.
- Rajo Kaaba: in December 2025 the World Bank said the project aims to equip "more than 40,000 women, girls, and youths across Somalia" with skills.
- Centre numbers: the most recent count Xidig found is from the education sector plan: 58 TVET centres with over 8,700 trainees in 2020, "in the southern part of the country". It is not a national count, and Xidig found no newer one.
The labour market.
- Skills mismatch: a June 2025 labour market analysis by the UN Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) describes "a substantial skills mismatch exacerbated by ongoing political instability and economic challenges" and says "Informal employment remains pervasive across all sectors". Xidig read only its summary page.
- Youth unemployment: the modelled ILO estimate for ages 15–24 is 34.2% for 2025 (World Bank data). This is a model estimate, not a survey result.
Diaspora skills transfer. IOM's Migration for Development in Africa (MIDA) programme has run in Somalia since 2008 and has "deployed more than 800 diaspora professionals, local professionals, and local interns". Its page does not say how many worked in TVET.
What this means (Xidig's interpretation). Money has gone mainly into buildings, equipment and courses. Matching courses to what employers need depends on things that barely exist yet: an agreed qualifications framework, regular input from employers, and data on what trainees do after they finish. These are areas where professionals, including in the diaspora, can help without large budgets.
Dependencies and implementation constraints
- Adoption of the qualifications framework, so that certificates mean the same thing everywhere.
- Clear roles between the education and labour ministries.
- Equipment and trained instructors at existing centres.
- Employers' willingness to take trainees in a largely informal economy.
Risks and unknowns
- Duplication between donor projects and the two ministries.
- Training without jobs: courses that do not match local demand.
- Unequal access for women, rural learners and displaced people.
- Missing data on centres, trainees and outcomes.
Questions members should verify before acting
- Has the National Qualifications Framework been adopted, and who accredits TVET courses?
- Which TVET centres would the government's proposal support, and in which trades?
- How would the proposal work alongside the AfDB, KfW and World Bank projects?
- Is there a formal way for employers to advise TVET centres?
What is confirmed, and what isn't
Confirmed
- The proposal, its cost and duration as printed.
- The NQF, RPL and credit-transfer drafting process (ACQF, 2025).
- The labour ministry's stated TVET mandate.
- The GIZ and World Bank programmes and their stated amounts, and the AfDB procurement notice.
- The modelled youth unemployment estimate.
Our interpretation
- Employer input and a working qualifications framework are the binding constraints.
Not yet verified
- Whether the NQF has been adopted.
- A national TVET policy or law.
- Current numbers of TVET centres and trainees.
- Budgets for the KfW, AfDB and TİKA support.
Relevant next steps
- Employers and professionals: contact a TVET centre in your trade and offer to review a course or host a trainee.
- Follow the AfDB procurement notices and the education ministry's TVET directorate for new programmes.
More about the source
The government's investment booklet, Bankable Projects 2026–2030 (MoPIED / SOMINVEST), lists this as a proposal. Its details are summarised here as printed.
Alternative Education Pathways and Skill Development (ED-01, pp.83–84).
- What: "Investments into the alternative education pathways and skills developments to fill the gaps and provide the students with skills sought after in the job market".
- TVET element: "harmonization of Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) programs with industry requirements".
- Drivers include: "Alignment with technological change and industry skill needs" and "Government and donor support for skills development".
- Existing infrastructure named: "Existing TVET centers" and "Potential for integration with ongoing donor supported literacy initiatives".
- Estimates as printed: US$27.44M; 5 years. The cost also covers adult literacy and second-chance education, and is not split.
- Promoters: SOMINVEST and the Ministry of Education, Culture and Higher Education.
A separate sheet, on new education infrastructure (ED-03, pp.87–88), includes "12 TVET centres" in a much larger building programme.
- Primary source: MoPIED / SOMINVEST, Bankable Projects 2026–2030, posted 19 Nov 2025. Alternative education pathways fact sheet at PDF pp.83–84; education infrastructure at pp.87–88.
- Status: pre-feasibility.
Related reports
- Digital learning, adult literacy and TVET in Somalia
- Offline learning: radio, preloaded players and tablets
- Skills map: which professional skills the 37 proposals would need
- Solar installer and technician skills in Somalia
- Reading the jobs numbers in the booklet
About this report
By Xidig members and collaborators.
Project codes. Codes such as EN-04 or AG-05 are Xidig's own shorthand for the booklet's fact sheets, by sector; the booklet itself does not number its projects.
How we researched it. We read the full 97-page booklet and checked every figure, page reference and quotation used here against it. We then compared the booklet's claims with the official and international sources listed below, and we say where they differ. We did not interview anyone for this report.
Corrections. If you spot an error, please tell us using the correction link on this page.
Sources
Primary
- MoPIED / SOMINVEST, Bankable Projects 2026–2030, PDF pp.83–84, 87–88: https://sominvest.gov.so/bankable-projects-in-somalia-2026-2030/
Supporting
- ACQF, "Somalia scores a 'hat trick': country elaborates NQF, RPL and CATS policies" (3 Jan 2025): https://acqf.africa/news/somalia-scores-a-201chat-trick201d-country-elaborates-nqf-rpl-and-cats-policies
- Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs, "Training and TVET": https://molsa.gov.so/training-and-tvet/
- GIZ, "Rehabilitation of Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) in Somalia": https://www.giz.de/en/projects/rehabilitation-technical-and-vocational-education-and-training-tvet-somalia
- GIZ, Somalia country page: https://www.giz.de/en/regions/africa/somalia
- EEAS, launch of the EU–German TVET project (1 Nov 2018): https://www.eeas.europa.eu/node/53235_en
- NIRAS, "TVET Somalia": https://www.niras.com/projects/tvet-somalia/
- World Bank, project P176898 (Rajo Kaaba): https://search.worldbank.org/api/v2/projects?format=json&id=P176898
- World Bank, "Somalia: World Bank provides an additional $52 million to increase access to education and skills training for 30,000 girls and women" (27 Jul 2022): https://www.worldbank.org/en/news/press-release/2022/07/27/somalia-world-bank-provides-an-additional-52-million-to-increase-access-to-education-and-skills-training-for-30-000-girl
- World Bank, "Creating pathways for women's empowerment and employment in Somalia" (10 Dec 2025): https://www.worldbank.org/en/news/feature/2025/12/10/creating-pathways-for-women-s-empowerment-and-employment-in-somalia
- African Development Bank, procurement notice for the Industrial Vocational Training Center, Mogadishu (Jun 2026): https://www.afdb.org/en/documents/spn-somalia-construction-and-rehabilitation-industrial-vocational-training-center-ivtc-tvet-centre-mogadishu-seip
- TİKA press release via Zawya, vocational training support in Somalia: https://www.zawya.com/en/press-release/africa-press-releases/turkish-cooperation-and-coordination-agency-tika-supports-vocational-training-in-somalia-ypz6dg4f
- Ministry of Education, Culture and Higher Education, Education Sector Strategic Plan 2022–2026, p.29: https://moe.gov.so/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/ESSP-2022-2026.pdf (archived copy: https://web.archive.org/web/20260119112459/https://moe.gov.so/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/ESSP-2022-2026.pdf)
- UN ESCWA, Elevating the talent pool: Somalia labour market analysis (Jun 2025): https://www.unescwa.org/publications/elevating-talent-pool-somalia-labour-market-analysis
- World Bank / ILO, youth unemployment (modelled ILO estimate): https://api.worldbank.org/v2/country/SOM/indicator/SL.UEM.1524.ZS?format=json&date=2019:2025
- IOM Somalia, MIDA programme: https://somalia.iom.int/mida-programme
Source notes
- The KfW programme details come from the consultant's project page; no budget or trainee numbers are published.