Somalia's Electricity Act 2023, explained
Tusmada
- Summary
- Where Xidig members may contribute
- Possible services, research, supplier or collaboration roles
- Who may find this useful
- What the Act says
- What has happened since 2023
- Dependencies and implementation constraints
- Risks and unknowns
- Questions members should verify before acting
- What is confirmed, and what isn't
- Relevant next steps
- More about the source
- Related reports
- About this report
- Sources
What the law sets up, who needs a licence, how tariffs are set, what has happened since it was signed, and where members can help.
Not investment or legal advice. Independent summary of a law and related public documents. The Government of Somalia has not endorsed it.
Summary
Somalia's Electricity Act, signed on 8 March 2023, sets the rules for anyone who generates, transmits or distributes power, in a sector where private electricity service providers supply more than 90% of the country's power (World Bank, 2021). The regulator it created is now licensing companies. That opens learning and service roles for members: translation and legal review, tariff modelling, licensing compliance and support for smaller electricity companies.
What Xidig found:
- A regulator. The Act creates the National Electricity Authority (NEA) to license and regulate power companies.
- Licences. Generation, transmission and distribution need licences. Small providers are treated differently, but the threshold is not stated in the Act.
- Tariffs. The NEA sets tariff rules that let efficient companies recover their costs with a reasonable return.
- A national grid company. The Act provides for a national company to develop and run a national grid.
- The regulator is at work. The NEA has issued interim licences since 2024, and in November 2025 it licensed 20 electricity service providers and validated a national tariff framework. Xidig found no NEA decision setting tariff levels, no grid code and no regulation specific to mini-grids.
- One caution. The only text published online is in Somali and is headed as a 2022 draft bill, so its article numbers may not match the signed law.
The government's proposal for a national electricity company (SONEC, US$11.7M) cites the Act, and several proposed power plants would need licences under it; details are under More about the source.
Where Xidig members may contribute
Learning and service openings, not confirmed contracts or tenders:
- Translation and legal review: a checked English version of the Act and its regulations would help investors and diaspora professionals.
- Regulatory skills: tariff modelling, licensing compliance and consumer-complaint systems.
- Company support: helping smaller electricity companies meet reporting and service standards.
Possible services, research, supplier or collaboration roles
- A members' plain-language guide to getting a licence, once the licensing regulation is public.
- Compliance support for small providers under the licence threshold.
- Research: comparing tariffs before and after licensing, using members' bills.
Who may find this useful
- Lawyers and regulatory specialists.
- Energy economists and tariff analysts.
- Electricity company managers.
- Solar and mini-grid developers.
What the Act says
The text.
- Where it is published: the Ministry of Energy and Water Resources publishes the Act only in Somali.
- What the file is: it is headed "HINDISA-SHARCIYEEDKA KORONTADA QARANKA, Sharci Lr /2022", which Xidig reads as a 2022 draft bill. It carries no signature page.
- Numbering differences: the regulator's website cites Article 3 for the sector's institutional framework and Articles 13–14 for tariffs; in the published file these articles sit in other chapters.
- English version: Xidig found no official or donor English translation.
The summary below follows the published file. The English glosses are Xidig's unofficial working translations.
| Chapter heading in the ministry's file | Articles | Unofficial English gloss |
|---|---|---|
| Qodobbo guud | 1–3 | General provisions |
| Awoodda iyo waajibaadka Wasaaradda | 4–10 | Ministry's powers and duties |
| Koronta galinta | 11–13 | Electrification: national strategy, access and rural electrification |
| Tamarta is-cusbooneysiisa iyo dhawrista korontada | 14–15 | Renewable energy and conservation |
| Maalgashiga | 16–19 | Investment |
| Hay'adda Korontada Qaranka | 20–34 | The National Electricity Authority |
| Wada-tashiga shirkadaha korontada | 35–36 | Consultation with power companies |
| Rukhsadaha | 37–44 | Licences |
| (no heading in the file) | 45–46 | Quality of imported electrical equipment; providers' right of way (from the article headings) |
| Shirkadda Korontada Qaran iyo Mareegta Qaran | 47–53 | National electricity company and national grid |
| Dhalinta iyo qaybinta korontada | 54–57 | Generation and distribution |
| Tariifadda, tayada adeegga iyo halbeegyada farsamo | 58–60 | Tariffs, service quality, technical standards |
| Xuquuqda shirkadaha korontada iyo macaamiisha | 61–62 | Rights of companies and consumers |
| Tartanka | 63–65 | Competition |
| Deegaanka, caafimaadka, iyo bedqabka | 66–67 | Environment, health and safety |
| Koronto dirista heer-gobol | 68–69 | Regional dispatch |
| Dhaqan galka sharcigan | 70–72 | Entry into force of this law (also transitional matters and precedence of laws) |
The regulator (NEA).
- Role: the file describes the Authority as responsible for administering and regulating the country's electricity (Art. 20). It is independent in carrying out its duties (Art. 22), though the NEA's own website calls it "quasi-autonomous".
- Board: it has nine members appointed by the minister, serving five-year terms (Arts. 25–26).
- Setting up: the Cabinet approved the NEA's establishment in July 2023. It also approved tariff and licensing regulations.
- Stated tasks: the NEA's website describes its work as including dispute resolution "through technical committees" and "weighing fines and compensations".
Licences.
- Who needs one: licences are issued for generation, transmission or distribution, and no one may operate without one (Art. 37).
- Small providers: providers, and people generating for their own use, below a set amount are treated differently. The Act does not state the threshold; Article 37(4) leaves it to the licensing regulation. Article 37(4) says they need no licence, while 37(5) says they apply for a general licence; larger providers need separate licences for each activity. Xidig could not reconcile the two clauses from the text.
- Transfers: licences cannot be transferred or sold without the Authority's written consent (Art. 38).
- General licence terms: its duration is left to a regulation (Art. 40); its fee is set by the Authority after consulting the ministry (Art. 41).
- Revocation: the Authority can revoke a licence, for example for non-compliance or unpaid fines (Art. 44).
Tariffs.
- Tariff rules: the Authority issues the tariff regulation (Art. 58). Tariffs should let efficient providers recover their costs with a reasonable return (Art. 58).
- Grants and support: where grants or support payments exist for generation and distribution, tariffs are to take them into account so that tariffs are lowered (Art. 58). Xidig found no express provision on cross-subsidy between customer groups.
- Methodology: the NEA has published a "Tariff Methodology and Tariff Adjustment Formulae Regulation". It covers generation-only, network-only and integrated operators such as today's town electricity companies.
Consumers and competition.
- Consumer rights: consumers have a right to adequate, good-quality and affordable electricity (Art. 62).
- Competition: the Authority can fine companies that act to harm competition (Art. 64).
Federal and regional roles.
- Offices: the Authority is headquartered in the capital, with offices in the Federal Member States (Art. 21).
- Regional dispatch: regional dispatch centres are to be built in cooperation with regional administrations (Arts. 68–69).
- Somaliland: it has its own electricity regulator (World Bank, 2021).
What has happened since 2023
- Interim licences: the NEA issued interim licences to 13 electricity service providers for June–December 2024, and planned to extend them to 30 June 2025. In February 2025 the World Bank recorded regulations for generation, distribution and tariffs as "approved and operational".
- Budget and staff: in February 2025 the NEA had not yet received a government budget provision. Its legal and technical advisers began on contracts effective 1 February 2025 (World Bank aide-mémoire).
- Licences for 20 providers: on 1–2 November 2025 the NEA issued licences to 20 electricity service providers; the licence types were not stated. The Africa Minigrids Program wrote: "It marks the first time since the collapse of the central government in 1991 that ESPs are operating under a unified, legally recognized licensing system."
- Tariff framework: at the same event the NEA validated Somalia's first national Tariff Regulation Framework. Partners are also supporting a digital monitoring system.
- Law marked as enacted: a World Bank project report of November 2025 marks "Enactment of FGS Electricity Law/Act" as achieved.
- Gaps: Xidig found no NEA decision setting tariff levels, no grid code and no regulation specific to mini-grids.
What this means. The Act gives Somalia's electricity sector a legal basis for licensing and tariff regulation, and the regulator is now using it. Much of the detail sits in regulations rather than the Act. The government's SONEC proposal cites Article 44, which in the published text deals with revoking licences (see More about the source).
Dependencies and implementation constraints
- Regulations: thresholds, fees and licence terms depend on regulations that Xidig could not read online. The Cabinet approved licensing and tariff regulations in July 2023; later sources cite "NEA Licensing Regulations (2024)", so they may have been revised.
- Funding and staff: the regulator depends on these, and partly on donor support.
- Federal and regional cooperation: needed for dispatch and local offices.
Risks and unknowns
- Signed text: whether the signed Act matches the published draft.
- Tariff levels: how tariff rules will change what customers pay.
- National grid company: its timing and structure.
Questions members should verify before acting
- Does the signed Act match the published file, especially its article numbers?
- What is the licence threshold in the licensing regulation?
- What licence fees and terms apply?
- Has the NEA approved any tariff levels?
- Has the national electricity company been set up?
What is confirmed, and what isn't
Confirmed
- Signing on 8 March 2023 and approval by both houses (ministry).
- The NEA's establishment, interim licences in 2024 and licences for 20 providers in November 2025.
- The contents of the published Somali file summarised above.
Our interpretation
- Much of the practical detail sits in regulations rather than the Act.
Not yet verified
- The signed text and its article numbering.
- The licence threshold, fees and terms.
- Any tariff decisions.
Relevant next steps
- Read the Somali text on the ministry's website and the NEA's regulations page.
- Follow the NEA for licensing rounds and tariff decisions.
- Members with legal and Somali-language skills: help review a translation through Xidig.
More about the source
The government's investment booklet, Bankable Projects 2026–2030 (MoPIED / SOMINVEST), is one of the sources for this report. The details it gives are summarised here as printed.
The Act matters for several booklet proposals, most directly the national electricity company:
- Somalia National Electricity Company (SONEC) (EN-07, pp.41–42). "SONEC, mandated under Article 44 of the 2023 Electricity Act, will function as the national electricity company." It aims to "reduce tariffs from USD 0.61/kWh to USD 0.30/kWh". US$11.7M; pre-feasibility.
- The power-plant proposals (HFO plants, EN-03; solar farm, EN-05; 15 off-grid plants, EN-04) would all need licences under the Act.
In the Somali text published by the ministry, Article 44 deals with revoking licences. The national company is in Article 47 (see Why electricity costs so much in Somalia).
- Primary source for the proposals: MoPIED / SOMINVEST, Bankable Projects 2026–2030, posted 19 Nov 2025. SONEC fact sheet at PDF pp.41–42.
- The Act: Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, Somali text (uploaded October 2023).
Related reports
- Why electricity costs so much in Somalia
- Mini-grids in Somalia: how they work, how they're licensed and financed
- Solar power and battery storage in Somalia
- Somalia's Bankable Projects 2026–2030, explained
About this report
By Xidig members and collaborators.
Project codes. Codes such as EN-07 are Xidig's own shorthand for the booklet's fact sheets, by sector; the booklet itself does not number its projects.
How we researched it. We read the Somali text of the Electricity Act published by the Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, the regulator's own pages and World Bank and Africa Minigrids Program documents, all linked below. English glosses of Somali headings and clauses are Xidig's unofficial working translations; they are not legal translations. We did not interview anyone for this report.
Not legal advice. This page summarises a law for general understanding. Anyone applying for a licence should read the official text and regulations, and take legal advice.
Corrections. If you spot an error, please tell us using the correction link on this page.
Sources
Primary
- Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, Somalia Electricity Act 2023 (Somali text, headed as a 2022 draft bill): https://moewr.gov.so/wp-content/uploads/2023/10/Somalia-Electricity-Act-2023.pdf · page: https://moewr.gov.so/ova_doc/somalia-electricity-act/
- Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, "National Electricity Act 2023" (signing): https://moewr.gov.so/event/national-electricity-act-2023/
- MoPIED / SOMINVEST, Bankable Projects 2026–2030, PDF pp.33–42: https://sominvest.gov.so/bankable-projects-in-somalia-2026-2030/
Supporting
- Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, Electricity Authority page: https://moewr.gov.so/electricity-authority/
- Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, tariff and licensing regulations page: https://moewr.gov.so/ova_doc/tariff-and-licensing-regulations/
- National Electricity Authority, overview: https://nea.gov.so/overview/
- National Electricity Authority, Tariff Methodology and Tariff Adjustment Formulae Regulation: https://nea.gov.so/tariff-methodology-and-tariff-adjustment-formulae-regulation/
- World Bank, SESRP/ASCENT aide-mémoire, mission of 3–18 Feb 2025: https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/099041125125016877/pdf/P173088-2d5ab2e8-1abe-4aba-9caf-78abd0b6dc91.pdf
- World Bank, SESRP Implementation Status and Results Report (4 Nov 2025): https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/099110425105521326/pdf/P173088-768d0297-9765-4477-ab01-1aef8b51b2df.pdf
- World Bank, SESRP Project Appraisal Document (15 Nov 2021): https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/989971641921723162/pdf/Somalia-Somali-Electricity-Sector-Recovery-Project.pdf
- Africa Minigrids Program, "AMP helps Somalia build its first unified system for licensing electricity providers" (17 Nov 2025): https://africaminigrids.org/amp-helps-somalia-build-its-first-unified-system-for-licensing-electricity-providers/
Source notes
- The licensing and tariff regulation files on the ministry's site could not be read.
- Article numbers follow the published Somali file and should be checked against the signed Act.